Envi/Engg – 11th hour

DODO !

1. Describe some of the emotions you felt during the film. Which aspects of the video had the greatest impact on you and why?

> I felt shaken because now I feel that the world is slowly deteriorating every second. The parts of the video that had the greatest impact on me are the images of our dying world and the loneliness, disappointment and frustration in the voices of the experts talking in the movie because they connect and pass the message with deep integrity and a somewhat pleading way.

2. What information contained in the video was new to you?

> I did not know that the greatest weapon for mass destruction is an idea, a process. I always thought of weapons as physical things, and yes it is the newest information I got from the movie, it is that economic globalization weakens our world in many massive ways.

3. What topics presented in the film would you like to explore further? Do you know what you need to know in order to continue learning about environmental issues? If the answer to that question is no, how can you find out what you need to know?

> I would preferably explore issues about mass species extinction, it is a personal thing, I am a person who puts value into everything and is a keeper of the past so, I am very much affected and I will be very disappointed, frustrated and desperate if the list of endangered species grew more.

No, i think that by reading, researching and continually monitoring other organization activities I can gather knowledge and widen my perspective about environmental issues.

4. Discuss the ways that eating locally produced food is an environmental issue. What can individuals do to support the local production and consumption of foods?

> Eating locally produces food for me is a good thing, it creates a really small balance among a really small area. It is like consuming current sunlight as stated in the movie, that if we only continued in that same living, the planet would have not suffered what it is experiencing today. By accommodating locally produced food we can control food production, food consumption, waste, energy in a small scale basis but if we can enlarge it to a bigger scale then it might be helpful.

As an individual, the only thing I can think of about food in general is that do not waste it, it is energy, it is money,and fairly enough it is very important.

5. Who should see this film and for what purposes? Who might be unreceptive to the ideas in the film and why?

> I think all of us should see it, it is an eye opener and after all we all live in the planet being discussed, so all of us has to have something to say and something to care about.

People nowadays, are very futuristic, techie and advanced, we always tend to care more about upgrading, leveling up, taking it to the next level. So, in my opinion, futuristic people will be a bit unreceptive of this topic.

6. Share one issue or item that struck you while you were watching The 11th Hour.

> I really do care about the integrity of each specie, so yes, what really struck me is the issue about endangering specie through human acts. Again, as I said before it is a personal thing.

7. As a result of your having seen this film, what, if any, specific actions do you think you will take?

> As of now, I can’t promise anything but in my own ways I will try to research more, to pay attention in this subject, to be able to be more knowledgeable, open and ready, to be creative, spontaneous and fast in making solutions and decisions that, I hope, one day, will be able to help and change our planet.

Leave a comment